A Celebration of Alexa

6 Feb
IMG_1420

Alexa is an expert at finding all the right answers.

Alexa Tulk has been a member of the Arizona Historical Society team since August 2010 as a work study student through the University of Arizona. During her time at AHS, she has impressed staff, volunteers and the public alike with her knowledge, professionalism, and friendliness. Alexa has recently graduated with her English degree and is moving on to new adventures in her life.

Alexa has graciously written this blog post about her time here. We will miss her, but we wish her well. Thank you Alexa!

-Alexandria, Laura and Erin

~*~*~*~*~*~*~


The Arizona Historical Society has truly become my second home. I started working at AHS in August of 2010. I was nervous, shy, and completely overwhelmed by the immense knowledge that my fellow peers had gained while working here. There was and still is so much to learn. That’s one of the reasons why I love working at AHS. There’s always something to discover, to investigate, and to learn from. I am so fortunate to be working at a place where I can explore the endless and fascinating material that AHS carries. From diaries to family photo albums, the intimacy and rarity truly makes the experience an unforgettable one.

One of the best experiences I’ve had working here is working the front desk. I never would have imagined that I would enjoy it as much as I do now. At first, I tried to avoid it as much as I possibly could. I was quiet and intimidated by what seemed like impossible research questions. But as I spent more and more time with patrons and the material, I grew to love the research. It wasn’t intimidating; it was exciting. If I hadn’t worked here, I never would have had the amazing opportunity to learn about so many interesting topics and to meet so many wonderful people. The learning experience here has been beyond exceptional.

Doing reference work in one of the workrooms.

Doing reference work in one of the workrooms.

One of the greatest feelings is seeing a patron’s face light up when they find a photograph of one of their family members. And for me, to be able to provide them with that, is such an inspirational and rewarding feeling. I wouldn’t trade it for the world.

Not only have I gained great researching skills, but I have also gained wonderful relationships along the way. My co-workers are simply the best, and I don’t know what I will ever do without them. From my very first day, they have made me feel right at home. I couldn’t have asked for better peers.

The Arizona Historical Society has always been such a warm and welcoming environment to be a part of. I will miss it immensely and will take all of the experiences that I have had here with me wherever I go.

